Preparing Images

Preparing and Building Images

The last two days have been spent preparing our images and building our Mac server. We’ve had two practice runs with this so I guess this is the final show. For full details have a look at the earlier two blog entries I have kept of the post production or development environments.

One of my concerns now is that I don’t really want to install Windows on every Mac. Originally I had thought it would be great to have dual boot systems although I am concerned now that this prolongs the life of Windows within our school. I feel now that a Windows machine should be a Windows machine and a Mac machine should be a Mac machine however where necessary I shall dual boot only where necessary rather than install two computers on a desk.

What Software do you use and do you have any recommendations? I currently have the following.

Apple Mac: iWorks Suite, iLife Suite, Adobe Web Suite, OpenOffice, Firefox, VLC, Cord, Burn, Google sketch-up, Google Earth, Flip for Mac, Perian, Clickview, MuseScore on my initial Mac image.

Windows: Office 2007,Clickview, Foxit Reader, Adobe Web Suite, Adobe Reader, Image Burn, Firefox, PDF Creater, VLC, 7-Zip, Audacity, Numbers Up 1 and 2, Readme, Paint.NET, Typing Tournament,  Photostory 3, Tux Racer, Tux Paint, MuseScore, Logger Pro, Open Office, Queensland Fonts, et al.  I have other CAD Products on some of our images but for the most part, the above is what I have installed on our basic image.

About Roland

Family, God, People, Architecture, Pursuit of Truth, Wisdom, Education, Community, Truth, Patience and Prosperity.
This entry was posted in Apple. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

