The Journey to a Mac School (or How Mac’s invaded my life).

I thought I would describe how and why we came to be a Mac school, this document has grown, and now appears to be a “How Macs invaded my life”  but the careful reader will observe that the life of people and organisations are a series of continuous events and choices which over time, take away from or add value to our fabric of life.  My three favourite interests are namely Architecture, Education and Technology.

I have always been a Linux user, Since 93/94 and l recall traveling from Redditch in the Midlands to London in the South by train and to entertain myself, instead of my usual Linux or Windows magazine I purchased an Apple Mac Magazine.  I found it hard to become interested in products that cost so much and I had a vague notion that it was an expensive platform all about improvement, photography and Graphics.

At a car boot sale, along the A3, between Wisley Gardens and Guildford I spied my first Mac, it was a little cube with a tiny screen, a small tissue box sort of keyboard, a mouse and some floppy disks, for about 25 pounds. I bought it because it looked cute and I brought it home, and it sort of worked but didn’t, so a friend and myself opened it, and I had never seen such a peculiar layout, it looked like all the old transistor radio’s I had ever owned but all the chip capacitors were large, sparcely laid out and quite elegant. What impressed me most was the the inside of the case, was a sort of die cast aluminium and had been designed with about 10 or 29 signatures, none of which I can recall, however it impressed me enough to realise that Mac users were proud of what they had and what they had done. Dave Pearson repaired his Mac and it all booted up and worked perfectly with a handful of disks. Although it was cute I could not find a suitable use for it and must have sold it or given it away. I have a vague notion that it might have been sold at a computer auction that Dave and I had organised in Runneymead, near Egham.  While it shared project (brainchild) Dave and Debbie did all the hard work and I somehow got credited with being involved, we advertised the Micro mart and perhaps even the Loot (British Ad Mag) and were pleasantly surprised by how many people turned up and parted with cash.

At some stage I learned that Apple Mac was now based on Unix, (one might as well say Linux) because the relationship between Unix is so close, I think this gave me the confidence I needed to believe that was now worth learning to use Mac and that the future of Macs was now more certain.

Due credit needs to be given to a volunteer who helped out at the College a few years ago. He was Apple Mac fan and he brought with him an enthusiasm for Mac which was hard to resist as well as an array of different Mac laptops.  He had been introduced to Mac by his father who had been involved with the Mac Club in Bundaberg in the days of the Apple Lisa, but apparently he moved over to a Windows environment when Apple lost their way during the late Eighties and early Nineties.

During his stay with us this volunteer would engage himself by explaining why Mac was a better choice.  He seemed to endlessly rotate his Apple Hardware, and he would offer to sell me his used equipment to help pay for his next upgrade.

I purchased my first and second Mac,  Lydia called me to tell me that a huge and very heavy box had arrived for me. My first e-Mac, it looked like the nose cone of a small aircraft, and as Lydia and (i think my Dad) pointed out a pregnant lady.

This takes me back to my basement in Guildford, (I regret selling that place), anyway in it I had loads of computers which shared a large Mitsubishi Monitor, and this monitor would when you switched it on do it’s self test and then degauss itself, by making a surprisingly loud sound which my Dad described as the sound of a Tugboat coming into the harbour.

I was clearly impressed by the ease of use of e-Mac and purchased another, this time from Matthew. It had less power than my first e-Mac and introduced me to the fact that not all macs were the same.  This used different and more expensive  memory and therefore still only has 512Mb Memory. It still functions perfectly apart from a high frequency pitch which it gets after being left on for some time.

I bought Rachel, my daughter, a Unibody Aluminium Macbook, (4th Mac) which seems to have been a success and which I have seldom (read never) have needed to fix, repair tune or remove viruses from. I fix peoples computer problems at work all day and it is a pleasure to come home and not have to fix computer problems at home, since I have started using Macs.

My current Mac (5th) is a white uni body Macbook, which does all I need and more.

http://maketecheasier.com/turn-your-ubuntu-intrepid-into-mac-osx-leopard/2009/01/08

http://www.howtoforge.com/mac4lin_make_linux_look_like_a_mac

About Roland

Family, God, People, Architecture, Pursuit of Truth, Wisdom, Education, Community, Truth, Patience and Prosperity.
This entry was posted in Apple, Geeking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

